happy belated birthday pepper!

In light of Pepper’s 10th birthday (it was actually yesterday), I decided to make him his favorite treat- homemade chicken & pumpkin dog biscuits.  He absolutely adores them, more than even his beloved jerky treats.  I’ve been contemplating making him a delicious banana & peanut butter cupcake –I’ve been working out the ingredients and haven’t figured it out yet-sorry Pepper for the delay.

Pepper’s Chicken & Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

2 eggs

1/2 cup canned organic pumpkin

1/2 cup chicken broth (reduced sodium)

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

2/3 cup scottish oatmeal or flax meal

3 1/2 cups organic brown rice flour or white rice flour

1 teaspoon dried parsley (optional)

Preheat oven to 350.

In large bowl, whisk together eggs, chicken broth and pumpkin to smooth.  Mix dry ingredients together in a separate bowl- rice flour, oatmeal, and sea salt (dried parsley is optional).  Gradually, add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture- combining with spatula or hands to form a stiff, dry dough. Turn out onto lightly floured surface (can use the brown rice flour) and if dough is still rough, briefly knead and press to combine.

Roll dough between 1/4 – 1/2″ use biscuit or other shape cutter to punch shapes, gathering and re-rolling scraps as you go.  This time around I used a bone & butterfly cutter.  Place shapes on cookie sheet, no greasing or paper necessary. If desired, press fork pattern on biscuits before baking, a quick up-and-down movement with fork, lightly pressing down halfway through dough. Bake 20 minutes. Remove from oven and carefully turn biscuits over, then bake additional 20 minutes. Allow to cool completely on rack before feeding to dog.

For an extra special treat for your furry friend, you can add a glaze on top of the biscuits after it has been cooled.

Carob Glaze

3 teaspoon carob powder

1 teaspoon honey

1 teaspoon vanilla

Makes up to 75 small (1) biscuits or 50 medium biscuits

Recipe adapted from simmer till dawn – Cleo’s Pumpkin Dog Biscuits

About emashita

Nearly two years ago, I was diagnosed with pre-diabetes. My life didn’t change much, but in April of 2011, I became very ill and was diagnosed with full on diabetes. It was a bit of a wake-up call for me and I quickly changed my eating habits. I scoured the internet for information about what to eat and what to avoid when it comes to a diabetic lifestyle. I cut out refined sugars, glutens, rice and pretty much all starches. After 90 days, I went in for blood work and was told that I was free and clear of diabetes. To live a healthy lifestyle inside and out is challenging and rewarding all at once. I started this blog to share my delicious (e is for Emilie and mashita means delicious in Korean) life with friends & family, and of course with new friends that stumble upon my site.
This entry was posted in dogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to happy belated birthday pepper!

  1. Gil Walsh says:

    Well even though I am not included in your first post, that is ok… I’m only your HUSBAND… hahaha… But the dogs do eat better than most humans. But since he turned 10, I suppose that is a big deal, so Happy Birthday Pepper!! Many more posts to come about yummy food!!!

Leave a Reply

