egg & bacon bake

12 cage free large eggs

10 strips of nitrate free bacon

2 1/2 cups 0% organic greek yogurt (i use the TJ’s brand-has a little tang to it)

4 chicken sausages chopped

1 cup sun-dried tomatoes

2 bags shredded swiss & gruyere cheese

 

saute sausages and put it aside.  mix eggs, yogurt, sun-dried tomatoes and cheese.  pour mixture into greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking dish.  drop chicken sausages on top of the mixture and then layer the bacon on top of that.  Bake at 350 degrees  for 40-60 minutes or until a chopstick inserted near the center comes out clean. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

 

you can pretty much add anything to the egg mixture- be creative!  i like to serve it with a side of broccoli or asparagus.

 

 

About emashita

Nearly two years ago, I was diagnosed with pre-diabetes. My life didn’t change much, but in April of 2011, I became very ill and was diagnosed with full on diabetes. It was a bit of a wake-up call for me and I quickly changed my eating habits. I scoured the internet for information about what to eat and what to avoid when it comes to a diabetic lifestyle. I cut out refined sugars, glutens, rice and pretty much all starches. After 90 days, I went in for blood work and was told that I was free and clear of diabetes. To live a healthy lifestyle inside and out is challenging and rewarding all at once. I started this blog to share my delicious (e is for Emilie and mashita means delicious in Korean) life with friends & family, and of course with new friends that stumble upon my site.
This entry was posted in cage-free, gluten free, grain free, nitrate free, recipes, refined sugar free, sugar free and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to egg & bacon bake

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    This looks like a very tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    I love sharing recipes also. I believe everyone can enjoy them. You can get our recipes on Twitter.

    Try This Pasta Dinner Recipe

  2. Joyce says:

    hi emilie! this is probably a silly question, but the sausages don’t have to be pre-cooked, do they? i really wanna try this recipe–seems like something i can actually make w/o botching too badly! 🙂

    • emashita says:

      i have only made this recipe by pre-cooking them first so that all the other ingredients will cook at the same time. but of course, you can try it without the pre-cook and let me how it goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

