bacon, yum!

kale & bacon stir fry

2 tablespoons finely chopped garlic

2 tablespoons chopped, peeled fresh ginger

2 tablespoon korean red chili pepper powder (you can reduce this if you prefer a milder taste)

2 tablespoon rice vinegar

2 tablespoon light soy sauce

3 tablespoon avocado oil (you can substitute olive oil or grapeseed oil)

2 tablespoon asian sesame oil

1 1/2 tablespoon sweetener (splenda or light agave nectar would be fine, or just plain sugar)

freshly ground black pepper

——-

2 bunches of kale, chopped

3 portabello caps, chopped

4 slices of bacon, chopped

In a wok, mix together the first 9 ingredients on low heat.  Add the bacon, raise the heat to medium and cook until done.   Add the mushrooms next.  Then add the kale on top and place lid on wok for about 3-5 minutes.  Cook & stir.  It’s a great side to quinoa or rice.

Recipe adapted from David Chang’s, “Momofuku”, octo vinaigrette.  sometimes i use the vinaigrette (the first 9 ingredients) as a sauce for wings, shrimp or just even on salads.  it’s quite versatile, i absolutely love it!

About emashita

Nearly two years ago, I was diagnosed with pre-diabetes. My life didn’t change much, but in April of 2011, I became very ill and was diagnosed with full on diabetes. It was a bit of a wake-up call for me and I quickly changed my eating habits. I scoured the internet for information about what to eat and what to avoid when it comes to a diabetic lifestyle. I cut out refined sugars, glutens, rice and pretty much all starches. After 90 days, I went in for blood work and was told that I was free and clear of diabetes. To live a healthy lifestyle inside and out is challenging and rewarding all at once. I started this blog to share my delicious (e is for Emilie and mashita means delicious in Korean) life with friends & family, and of course with new friends that stumble upon my site.
This entry was posted in nitrate free, recipes, refined sugar free. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to bacon, yum!

  1. sj says:

    looks and sounds delicious!!

Leave a Reply

