Cookies & Cream Ice Cream

today is my hubby’s 35th birthday.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY YUHBO (korean: hubby)!!!  i am making him a cookies & cream ice cream cake for his bbq birthday party tonight at my mom’s home.  🙂

it takes 5 ingredients!  very easy!

my basic vanilla ice cream ingredients:

 2 cups heavy cream

1/2 cup light agave nectar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 teaspoon spiced rum

twirl in the ice cream maker first for about 15-20 minutes.  while that’s processing.  place cookies (they’re uber cheap @amazon.com):  

in a bowl and crush them up with a wooden spoon.

after the ice cream is done twirling, place 1 cup of crushed cookies in the ice cream and mix in a freezer safe container.

place in freezer.

About emashita

Nearly two years ago, I was diagnosed with pre-diabetes. My life didn’t change much, but in April of 2011, I became very ill and was diagnosed with full on diabetes. It was a bit of a wake-up call for me and I quickly changed my eating habits. I scoured the internet for information about what to eat and what to avoid when it comes to a diabetic lifestyle. I cut out refined sugars, glutens, rice and pretty much all starches. After 90 days, I went in for blood work and was told that I was free and clear of diabetes. To live a healthy lifestyle inside and out is challenging and rewarding all at once. I started this blog to share my delicious (e is for Emilie and mashita means delicious in Korean) life with friends & family, and of course with new friends that stumble upon my site.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

