Gluten Free + Lactose Free Mac & Cheese

2 boxes of quinoa shells

2 cups cheese sauce

optional: 1 package bacon (nitrate free) and gluten free bread crumbs

cheese sauce

1/2 cup coconut oil

2 cups milk (I used unsweetened coconut milk, but you can use your favorite)

4 eggs

24 ounces of lactose free cheese (I use TJ’s brand: Yogurt cheese)

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 T black pepper

1 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Cook pasta al dente with a tablespoon of your favorite oil, I used grapeseed.  Place in colander.

Fry bacon till crispy.

Prepare cheese sauce and then mix pasta with cheese sauce.

Place mixture in oven safe pan.  I topped it with bacon & gf bread crumbs.

Bake at 350 for about 1 hour.

About emashita

Nearly two years ago, I was diagnosed with pre-diabetes. My life didn’t change much, but in April of 2011, I became very ill and was diagnosed with full on diabetes. It was a bit of a wake-up call for me and I quickly changed my eating habits. I scoured the internet for information about what to eat and what to avoid when it comes to a diabetic lifestyle. I cut out refined sugars, glutens, rice and pretty much all starches. After 90 days, I went in for blood work and was told that I was free and clear of diabetes. To live a healthy lifestyle inside and out is challenging and rewarding all at once. I started this blog to share my delicious (e is for Emilie and mashita means delicious in Korean) life with friends & family, and of course with new friends that stumble upon my site.
This entry was posted in cage-free, gluten free, lactose free, nitrate free, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

