cookie: chocolate chippies with walnuts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adapted from the Cinnamon Quill

1/4 cup tapioca starch
1/4 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup sorghum flour
3 Tablespoons potato starch
1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup brown sugar (artificial sweetener)

1/4 cup grapeseed oil
1/4 cup light agave nectar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1/4  cup vegan chocolate chips (not sugar free)

a handful of crushed walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F. Line two cookie sheets with silpat.

In a medium bowl, stir together all dry ingredients. Add oil, light agave nectar, and vanilla, mixing by hand or with a mixer on medium. Dough will be thin. Fold in chocolate chips & walnuts, and let dough stand for 10 minutes to thicken a bit.

Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto prepared sheets, and dust some sea salt on top of each one. Bake for about 10 minutes–cookies will look a little underdone but will continue cooking after they are out of the oven. Let cool on sheet for 1-2 minutes, then remove to cooling rack. Cookies will be a little brittle until they cool.

Store in airtight container. Makes 16-18 cookies, depending on size.

my husband made ice cream sandwiches with it for dessert.  super yummy!

About emashita

Nearly two years ago, I was diagnosed with pre-diabetes. My life didn’t change much, but in April of 2011, I became very ill and was diagnosed with full on diabetes. It was a bit of a wake-up call for me and I quickly changed my eating habits. I scoured the internet for information about what to eat and what to avoid when it comes to a diabetic lifestyle. I cut out refined sugars, glutens, rice and pretty much all starches. After 90 days, I went in for blood work and was told that I was free and clear of diabetes. To live a healthy lifestyle inside and out is challenging and rewarding all at once. I started this blog to share my delicious (e is for Emilie and mashita means delicious in Korean) life with friends & family, and of course with new friends that stumble upon my site.
This entry was posted in casein-free, dairy free, gluten free, recipes, refined sugar free, vegan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to cookie: chocolate chippies with walnuts

  1. I am glad to see your variation on the cookies!! Look really good 🙂

  2. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on UNIQUE GREETING CAKES.

Leave a Reply

